Sharing allows you to grant users in your organization varying levels of access on all objects in Civis.
Any job, Report, Workflow, or Project is shareable.
You can share with any users or groups that are in your organization. If you'd like to alter your organization's group structure to better facilitate sharing (by adding more groups or renaming them) read more about the Admin Center.
There are three permission levels you can assign to a user or group:
- Viewer - Can only view the shared object. Cannot edit or run it.
- Editor - Can edit and run the shared object. Cannot delete or change the sharing settings of the object.
- Manager - Can edit, run, delete, and change the sharing settings of the object.
By default, when you create an object you will receive Manager permissions and your primary group will receive Editor permissions.
You can access the sharing pane by clicking on the three dots in the top right corner, and selecting the Share icon in the drop down menu.
From there you can choose user and groups to share with and what permission level each should have on the object.
Once you're done selecting the user and groups and choosing their permission level, click Add to see the sharing pane update with your changes. You can also edit or revoke access by selecting a different permission level or clicking the X on the right side of the sharing pane, respectively.
All objects must have at least one user or group with Manager permissions.
Please view our documentation on sharing custom scripts: Custom Script Sharing Documentation
Once you selected a user to share with you can notify them via email by checking the 'Notify Users' below the search panel. Users will receive an email with a link to the job, alerting them that they have been shared. You can also add a custom message in the text box below the 'Notify Users' check box.
Here's a comprehensive list of the abilities each permission level has:
|Ability||Viewer / Read||Editor / Write||Manager / Manage|
|Object visible in index and search||X||X||X|
|See object settings||X||X||X|
|Make Report from Script||X||X||X|
|Download most recent Script output||X||X||X|
|Set up as a trigger||X||X||X|
|Download past Script output||X||X||X|
|Add Project to another Project||X||X||X|
|Add/Remove objects from Project||X||X|
|Run (with your credentials) or Re-run||X||X|
|Publish / Un-publish a Script Template||X||X|
|Change Sharing Settings||X|
|Generate a Service Token||X|